News Archives

Nationals Davey Johnson Wins Manager of the Year

November 13th, 2012 at 10:45 PM
By Josh Meyers

Davey Johnson added to the Washington Nationals list of postseason awards, winning the National League Manager of the Year by a convincing margin. Johnson, who days before announced he would manage the team again in 2013, received 23 first-place and finished in front of Cincinnati Reds Dusty Baker.

In Johnson's first full season he lead the Nationals to their first winning season since arriving in Washington, their first NL East crown, and the best overall record in baseball.

Johnson's win added to a vast collection of 2012 awards won by his players. Johnson won the award one day after Bryce Harper won the NL Rookie of the Year. Adam LaRoche, Ian Desmond, and Stephen Strasburg each won NL Silver Slugger awards and LaRoche also won his first Gold Glove.

The Nationals finished 2012 with a 98-64 record, 18 games better than the Nationals 2011 campaign. The Nationals post season appearance was the first for a Washington Baseball team since 1933.

Tags: Baseball, MLB, Washington, Washington Nationals

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Login with: