History of the Washington Nationals

The Montreal Expos moved to Washington D.C in 2005, reestablishing professional baseball in the nation’s capital with the founding of the Washington Nationals, members of the National League East. The new Washington franchise based their logo, team colors, and name on the Washington Senators, who played in Washington before the team moved to Minnesota. The D.C area was chosen by the other owners in the league, choosing Washington over a number of other suitors, including Puerto Rico, where the Expos played some of their home games during the final season. The Nationals recorded their first win in franchise history on April 6, 2005, defeating the Philadelphia Phillies 7-3.

The team has not experienced much success since their inception, failing to make the playoffs in every season. Still, Ted Lerner, the owner of the team, has tried to establish the Nationals as a contender, as the team has enjoyed their best season during this campaign. The Nationals are led by Stephen Strasburg and Bryce Harper, considered by many to be two of the best prospects in baseball, as well as veteran Ryan Zimmerman. Several stars have made stops in Washington during the course of their careers, including Alfonson Soriano, now with the Chicago Cubs, as well as Chicago White Sox slugger Adam Dunn. The future looks bright for the Nationals, with an established core of players as well as several up and comers, which could lead to the first playoff berth in the team’s history.

The Nationals have been managed by five different coaches in their short existence, originally led by Frank Robinson, who holds the record for most wins as a manager for the team. Currently, the team is led by Davey Johnson, who took over the team in the middle of the 2011 season. While Johnson has been successful during his tenure, John McLaren holds the best winning percentage of a manger, winning two thirds of his game. That stat is somewhat misleading, however, as McLaren only managed the ball club for three games.